Houndstooth

Good afternoon everyone!

I recently bought a pair of houndstooth tap shorts from American Apparel! I’ve never had anything houndstooth patterned in my closet before, so it was a pretty pivotal experience for me.

I bought these with the plan of playing up my minimalist and simple outfits, as the dark pattern seems dull but can actually add quite a lot to neutral colored tops. I’ve been really loving the “t-shirt-and-bottoms-90’s” look, so these shorts will definitely be a staple this summer for me!

These are the black shorts. I bought them in the XS, but if you are my size, I would still suggest to get the S, because they do run a bit tight on the waist-line.

DSC_0136_edited.jpg

I paired the shorts with this new graphic t-shirt I recently got as a graduation present from my lovely friend Alex. She bought it from Zara for $25.90, which isn’t a bad price at all for something from Zara. I absolutely adore the Asian model screen print, since I’m rooting for all these increasingly popular minority models including Sui He, Aoki Hana, and Kiko Mizuhara.

Here’s the t-shirt up close and untucked.

tshirt.jpg

Another thing about this shirt is the unique chiffon peplum bottom. I have never seen such a dolled up t-shirt, but I would definitely wear it untucked with pants as the shirt is a bit long.

Some more photos of the outfit:

DSC_0146_edited.jpgDSC_0149_edited.jpg

List of what I’m wearing:

Top–Zara

Shorts–American Apparel

Socks–Target

Jelly Sandals–American Apparel

Sunglasses–Urban Outfitters

Watch–Michael Kors

Because I wanted to add to the minimalist feel, I kept my hair straight to make everything neat and concise. Having my hair wavy would clash. However, I would also recommend tying your hair up into a pony-tail or putting it into a side braid with these kinds of looks.

Maybe you weren’t paying attention to the accessories, but remember, they are important components to the outfit. I purposefully chose my Savannah colored bug sunglasses for this outfit, because it gives off more of a “New York” look to match the houndstooth. If I wanted to go for a beachier look, I would switch out the shorts for denim and changed the sunglasses to clear rimmed ones.

Here’s a final look of the outfit and sunglasses!

DSC_0158_edited.jpg

If it gets chilly, add a jacket! I thrifted this denim jacket, but the brand is Liz Claiborne. Any denim, green cargo, or even trench material would match flawlessly with the colors.

DSC_0165_edited.jpg

DSC_0169_edited.jpg

Final Note: Mini Review of the Shoes

DSC_0188_edited.jpg

I recently bought these jellies as a comfortable shoe to wear to work. For those of you who grew up in the 90’s, these are a blast from the past. I used to have a pair of these when I was 4 or 5 years old, but now I’m excited to style them as part of the new fashion movement! They’re SUBLIME for the upcoming spring and summer, and they look amazing with colored and funky socks. You can easily be presh and fresh with these on.

Photos taken by Jenifer Fang

 
10
Kudos
 
10
Kudos

Now read this

Botanical in the Woods

Hello all! Spring is approaching Texas (finally) and it’s starting to warm up. I’m really excited to start busting out the shorts, light tops, and, of course, flower patterns. A trend that I’ve been absolutely loving for the warmer... Continue →